Blog

Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush Review

The Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush Powered by Braun has the quality and technology that people come to expect from a brand like Oral-B.

This electric toothbrush is the top choice in the pro range and for good reason.

With pressure control, a 2-minute professional timer and 2 brushing modes it gives you a solid platform to brush correctly as a dentist would recommend.

Let’s take a look at this Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush by Oral-B.

Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush review Dental Aware

Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush

Our Verdict

8/10

  • Packaging and Design
  • Usability and Durability
  • Price and Value

Pros

  • Pressure control function works great and stops you brushing too hard.
  • Professional timer keeps you on track with brushing for the complete 2 minutes.
  • A very well made electric toothbrush by Oral-B for the price. Strong and durable, it will last.

Cons

  • The CrossAction brush head was a little firm and hard when I first used it.
  • The highest brushing mode 'Daily Clean' was pretty intense. Preferred the lower setting called 'Gum Care'.
  • Only one brush head in the pack, a softer bristle brush head would have been appreciated.

Technical Details

Full Review

The Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush is sleek and stylish, with some exciting features.

It is position at the top of the Oral-B Pro range, with a great pressure control feature that helps you brush gently and correctly.

I review this electric toothbrush in detail and you can jump to certain sections using the content table below.

Features

The Oral-B Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush has a lot of the important things that will make a difference when you brush your teeth.

Oral B have confirmed 5 key features and benefits that you will notice with the Pro 2000 electric toothbrush.

  • Removes up to 100% more plaque than a standard manual toothbrush: The round head cleans better for healthier gums in 30 days vs a manual toothbrush.
  • Gently whitens your teeth starting from day 1 by removing surface stains.
  • The pressure control helps protect your gums and reduces brushing speed and alerts you if you brush too hard.
  •  Oral-B’s 2min professional timer confirms that you brush for the right amount of time.
  • 2 brushing modes: daily clean and gum care.

My First Impressions

I was impressed with how it was packaged and what was inside.

The Pro 2000 electric toothbrush I thought was made very well and came with really simple but effective features that improved my overall brushing experience.

The handle is well-weighted in the palm of your hand and having the ability to change up the brush heads was beneficial in my eyes.

The Oral-B Pro 2000 gave a good first impression

The Oral-B Pro 2000 gave a good first impression

I loved that you could charge it once, for an extended period of time, and it was able to last for over 2 weeks of use.

The Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush I bought for this review came with a travel case, which I thought made all the difference when wanting or needing to carry this toothbrush with you.

In terms of price, I thought it was spot-on for the money at around $90 Australian.

The Oral-B packaging for the Pro 2000 is secure

The packaging provided good solid protection for the electric toothbrush

Packaging and Design

Oral-B has packaged the Pro 2 2000 very nicely.

It comes in a beautiful blue box with plenty of visuals that help with identifying what you’ve bought and let you understand what you can expect inside.

It mentions all the features and benefits that the Pro 2000 has, like Round brush head for superior clean, professional timer for a dentist recommended 2 minutes and a Li-ion battery that lasts more than 2 weeks from one charge.

The product is protected by a polystyrene cutout and everything inside was secured well.

The Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush packaging and contents

A simple yet effective electric toothbrush by Oral-B

Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush – What’s Inside

Inside the box you will get the following 4 items:

  • 1x Power brush handle
  • 1x CrossAction Brush head
  • 1 Charger
  • 1 x Protective travel case

The travel toothbrush case is only available as a bonus and will be identified on the packaging.

It was a good bonus to have and I used it a lot.

The bonus travel case with the Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush

I rate the travel case, it does a great job at protecting the Pro 2000

The Brush Head

My Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush came with a CrossAction midnight black brush head.

It’s well made and feels like good quality.

It was easy to connect to the brush handle but just make sure that the brush head is facing the front of the handle (it won’t go on the other way).

The CrossAction Brush Head by Oral-B

Oral-B’s CrossAction brush head which came with the product

The bristles on the CrossAction brush head are quite hard and rigid.

I found them too firm for my liking when I first used it.

I haven’t used an electric toothbrush before and I was a little taken back by how full-on the sensation of the vibration on my teeth.

It’s improved with time and I have enjoyed using this electric toothbrush.

A closer look at the CrossAction brush head by Oral-B

The CrossAction Brush Head

Types of Brush Heads Available

There are 7 different types of brush heads that will fit a Pro 2000 electric toothbrush.

Most Oral-B brush heads feature a light blue indicator on the bristles to help you monitor brush head replacement needs.

Should you thoroughly brush twice a day for two minutes, the blue colour will fade halfway approximately within three months, indicating you will need to replace your brush head.

Sometimes your bristles may splay before the colour fades. If this occurs you probably have exerted too much pressure on teeth and gums.

Oral-B recommends, do not use the Oral-B FlossAction or Oral-B 3D White Brush Head if you have braces.

If you have braces, Oral-B has created an Ortho Brush Head, specially designed to clean around braces and wires.

I’ll run through the standard 7 brush heads available for the Pro 2000.

  1. CrossAction
  2. 3D White
  3. Gum Care
  4. Precision Clean
  5. FlossAction
  6. Sensitive Clean
  7. Kids

CrossAction Brush Head

This is the brush head that came with the Pro 2000 I purchased.

Oral-B confirms it’s been designed with dentists and is their ‘most advanced brush head’.

The bristles are angled and claim to remove 100% more plaque than a manual toothbrush.

The CrossAction Brush head has angled bristles

Angled bristles on the CrossAction Brush Head

I did like the end-rounded bristles but found it a little firm when I first started using it.

As I continued with the review I found the brush head softened nicely and was good to use.

The CrossAction is available in 2 colours: black and white.

3D White Brush Head

Oral-B designed this brush head for a whiter clean and has ‘exclusive features designed with dentists’.

The polishing cup at the centre of the is brush head gently removes surface stains to whiten teeth.

It also has end-rounded bristles to protect gums and ‘polishes for whiter teeth from day 1’ (Oral-B statement).

Gum Care Brush Head

Oral-B has designed this brush head so that you can have a more gentle clean overall.

They claim it removes up to 100% more plaque for healthier gums than a manual toothbrush.

That round head with ultrathin bristles for a gentle clean looks great and if you have sensitive teeth this would be a good option as it’s ‘ideal for cleaning around sensitive areas’.

It is also suitable for ages six and above, making it an all-round gentle brush head.

Precision Clean

Focusing on a tooth by tooth clean, Oral-B has designed this brush head to ‘promote a clean mouth and healthy gums’.

Oral- B claims it ‘cleans deeper than a regular flat trim manual toothbrush’ and ‘penetrates hard-to-reach areas’.

FlossAction Brush Head

Design not to replace flossing but to give you a true feeling of flossing while you brush.

It has advanced micropulse bristles that provide a superior interdental clean (not to replace flossing).

A great all-round brush head that helps keep your gums healthy.

Sensitivity Clean

If you have sensitive teeth than his brush head is definitely the one for you.

Extra gentle on teeth and gums, perfect if you experience sensitive teeth and gums.

Kids Brush Head

Kids are also covered by Oral-B’s Kids electric toothbrush brush head.

It has a small brush head specifically designed for little mouths.

Pro 2000 Power Handle

I was very impressed with how the handle felt in my hand.

You can tell straight away that this product is very well made and will last.

The power button that offers 2 modes of brushing is positioned in a natural location on the handle.

Holding the Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush

Oral-B Pro 2000 – Comfortable handle to grip and use

It comes with grooves or indentations to aim in holding the handle so it won’t slip, something that hasn’t happened over the past 4 weeks I’ve used this electric toothbrush.

The pressure control function is easily noticed when you use the Oral-B Pro 2000.

If for some reason you apply too much pressure, a red light which is located just below the brush head connection point lights up.

Pressure control red light position on the Oral-B Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush

The pressure control function, located on the back of the handle

Placing it on the charge is a breeze and was compact enough to fit in my bathroom cabinet.

The handle has indicator lights close to the base, showing you when it’s charging and when it needs to be charged.

It will flash a light green colour as it’s charging and hint that it needs charging with a few red flashing lights when turning it on/off.

Oral-Bs charger for the Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush

The charger works well and provides a stable base for the toothbrush to stand

Charging and Operating the Oral-B Pro 2000

So the Oral-B toothbrush has a waterproof handle and is electrically safe and designed to be used in the bathroom, which is great.

There are four points that Oral-B confirms about charging and general operation. They are as follows:

Point 1 – First Use

You can and may use the toothbrush right away. And you can also charge it briefly by placing it on the plug-in charger.

If the battery is empty and there’s no charging light illuminated, put it on for 30 minutes and this will charge the battery enough so you can use it.

Point 2 – Indicator Lights

The green light indicator will flash while the handle’s being charged. Once it’s fully charged, the light turns off.

A full charge takes about 12 hours, and I would recommend do so before you first use it so you can enjoy up to two weeks of brushing.

Point 3 – Battery Running Low

If the battery, for some reason is running low, the red little charge indicator light, it will start flashing for a few seconds when turning your toothbrush on and off, and the motor will then decrease in its speed.

Once the battery is empty, the motor will stop completely. And you’ll need at least 30 minutes to charge for one usage.

I recommend charging the electric toothbrush at around the 10-day mark. Putting it on before you head to bed is a convenient way to make sure it’s charged properly.

Point 4 – Storage

You can always store the handle on the plugged-in charging unit, and battery overcharge is prevented on this device.

Even though you can leave it plugged in and on, I’d recommend turning the charger on and off when you need to charge the toothbrush. Saves electricity as well.

Oral-B Pro 2000 charger and instruction manual and brush head

Oral-B Pro 2000 – The charger, Instruction manual and brush head

How to Use the Pro 2000

This electric toothbrush comes with very detailed and thorough instructions for how to use this brush.

Fairly easy to understand, they are nevertheless important to know before you start using the product.

Brushing Techniques

Simply wet the brush head and apply any kind of toothpaste.

During my review period, I’ve used different types of toothpaste, such as Colgate Total 12, Grants of Australia Mild Mint Natural Toothpaste with Aloe Vera and Colgate’s Optic White.

To avoid splashing, start by guiding the toothbrush head inside your mouth and close to your teeth before switching on the electric toothbrush.

Using the CrossAction Brush Head with the Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush

The CrossAction Brush head in action

When brushing your teeth with one of the Oral-B oscillating rotating brush heads, guide the brush head slowly from tooth to tooth, spending a few seconds on each tooth surface.

Apply light pressure and start brushing in back and forth motions, just like you would with a manual toothbrush.

With any brush head, do not forget to brush all three surfaces of your teeth, chewing, outer, and inner surfaces.

Brush all four quadrants of your mouth equally. You may also consult your dentist or dental hygienist about the right techniques for you.

Guiding the CrossAction brush head around my teeth

Guiding the CrossAction brush head around my mouth

In the first days of using an electric toothbrush, your gums may bleed slightly. In general, bleeding should stop after a few days.

Should it persist after two weeks, please consult your dentist or dental hygienist.

If you have sensitive teeth and or gums, Oral-B recommends using the Gum Care mode.

Professional Timer

You’ll notice a short shuddering sound at 30-second intervals, reminding you that you should brush all four quadrants of your mouth equally.

A long shuddering sound indicates the end of the professionally recommended two minute brushing time.

If the toothbrush is turned off during the brushing, the elapsed brushing time will be rememorized for 30 seconds. When pausing longer than 30 seconds the timer resets.

Pressure Sensor

This feature is great and helps a lot when brushing.

In the past, electric toothbrushes could do damage to your enamel and teeth in general, if you brushed too hard or incorrectly.

On the Oral-B Pro 2000, if too much pressure is applied, the pressure sensor light will light up red, notifying you to reduce brush pressure.

In addition, the pulsation of the brush head will stop and the oscillation movement of the brush head will be reduced.

Periodically check the operation of the pressure sensor by pressing moderately on the brush head during use.

The pressure sensor working when using the Oral-B Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush

The pressure sensor alerts you with a red light

Cleaning Recommendations

Oral-B has mentioned 7 simple cleaning tips and recommendations on the manual for you to follow when you have finished using your Pro 2000 electric toothbrush.

  • After brushing, rinse your toothbrush, run it under running water with the handle switched on.
  • Switch off and remove brush head.
  • Clean handle and brush head separately.
  • Wipe them dry before reassembling.
  • Unplug the charging unit before cleaning.
  • Brush head compartment protective colour and brush head holder are dishwasher safe.
  • The charger should be cleaned with a damp cloth only.

Warranty Information

Oral-B gives a 24-month warranty on this product, and it commences from the day of purchase.

‘The warranty only covers defects in the appliance resulting from faults in workmanship or materials’.

The warranty does not cover the following:

  1. Damage arising from improper use or operation or incorrect voltages.
  2. Breakages to replacement parts, brush heads etc.
  3. Normal wear due to moving parts.
  4. Repairs undertaken by unauthorized service personnel or use of non-genuine parts.
  5. Appliances that are outside the warranty period and are not faulty.
  6. Any failure to provide facilities or spare parts more than two years after date of purchase applies.

Furthermore, Oral-B’s warranty will be ‘voided if electric rechargeable handle damage is found to be contributed to the use of non-Oral-B replacement brush heads. Oral-B does not recommend the use of non-Oral-B replacement brush heads’.

That’s reasonable.

holding the Oral-b Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush

Testing the Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electric Toothbrush

My review period has seen me use this electric toothbrush for over 4 weeks in total.

Because this was my first time using an electric toothbrush, I felt like I was a kid with a new toy!

Below are my thoughts and experiences as I tried the Pro 2000 out and put it through its paces.

Usage Timeline

  • Initial Usage
    Condition: Excellent

    • Thought the packaging was really nice.
    • Instructions were detailed but easy to understand.
    • Charge base held the brush handle securely and charge it well. I left it to charge for 12 hours.
    • Brush head was very hard on my teeth and gums when I first used it.
    • The vibration the electric toothbrush gave off was considerable.
    • Straightaway I preferred the gum care mode of brushing (lower of the two modes).

  • 7 days of use
    Condition: Great

    • The electric toothbrush is going well and is still operating on the first charge.
    • The bristles on the brush head are softening up, which is much better to use at moment, however, a soft brush head like Gum Care or Sensitive Clean would be better.
    • Still prefer the lower of the two modes for brushing. The daily clean is just too much in my opinion.
    • Enjoying holding the handle, it feels great in my palm and easy to operate.
    • The handle has good grip sections on it and you never feel like it will slip out of your hand.

  • 2 - 4 weeks of use
    Condition: Great

    • Pressure control is wonderful, its alerted me when I brush too hard.
    • The professional timer is also appreciated and helps me kept on track with my 2-minute brushing routine, as well as cleaning all 4 quadrants, equally.
    • The bristles on the brush head have really softened up so I feel it's getting to the soft brush I like.
    • The power started to wane around the 2-week mark, so that was a true statement by Oral-B.
    • The travel case has been used a lot and I think it's a good size and protects the Pro 2000 electric toothbrush very well.
    • Gum Care mode has been my favourite setting.

Price and Value

The recommended retail price in Australia for the Oral-B Pro 2 2000 electric toothbrush is $159.95.

However, most retail stores sell this toothbrush for between $79.95  to just under $100 Australian.

For what you get and the quality of the product, I feel it is good value for money.

If you are savy and can find a discount code online, extra value for money can be found.

Some comparable prices online - Screenshot from Google Shopping

Price does vary a little, expect to pay around $90 for the Pro 2000

A look at the Pro 2000 Electric Toothbrush by Oral-B

Overall

The Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Electic Toothbrush has been a pleasure to use.

In the beginning, because I hadn’t brushed my teeth with an electric toothbrush before I was a little shocked by the vibration sensation I felt, but it passed and I got use to it.

The lower of the two brushing modes, gum care, was my pick and offered a more gentle brushing experience.

The Pro 2000 is a decent and quality electric toothbrush that has all the important functions needed to complete a correct and proper teeth cleaning.

What are your thoughts on the Pro Electric Toothbrush range by Oral-B?

Andrew Adams

By Andrew Adams

Created at September 16, 2020, Updated at September 15, 2021

No Comments

LEAVE A COMMENT